Tomatoes – Our Love-Hate Relationship

A few weeks ago, in my blog post called “There’s Something About Tomatoes,” I pondered what it is about tomatoes that attracts gardeners so much, while the commercial varieties seem to repel us almost universally. As it turns out, I’m not the only one who has been thinking about this.

Just last week, on the National Public Radio show, “All Things Considered,” journalist Dan Charles pondered the same topic. In case you missed it, here’s a link to the segment entitled “How The Taste of Tomatoes Went Bad (And Kept On Going).” If you are able to listen to the audio, it is well worth the five and half minutes it will take you. If not, you can read the transcript at the same link.

Interestingly, I have been reading a book on the same subject. The book, written by Arthur Allen, is entitled Ripe: The Search for the Perfect Tomato. I haven’t finished the book yet, so I’m not ready to post a review of it, but I’m curious: have any of you read it? If so, what were your thoughts? I’d love to hear from you!

Meanwhile, I have lots of beautiful tomato vines in my garden, but only two lonely fruits waiting to ripen. Although I hate to wish time away, I’m anxious for the hot days and warm, muggy nights of summer to fade into the past so I can get my fall garden in the ground with a whole assortment of heirloom varieties!

5 responses to this post.

  1. There is nothing as good as a field tomato right out of the field or garden – nothing like it

    Reply

  2. Posted by thebeadden on July 6, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    I agree. A few more weeks and we should be eating our first ripe tomato. I can’t wait! I am yearning for that taste again!

    Reply

  3. I heard that segment. Have you ever had tomatoes in central Florida as early as May? (Doing research for my novel set in north Florida!)

    Reply

    • This year, because of the mild winter, I actually had tomatoes as late as May! That’s about when last year’s fall tomatoes fizzled out. I haven’t gotten the timing right just yet to have any spring plantings produce by then.

      Reply

  4. Posted by wokspefarenew1983 on September 9, 2012 at 4:50 am

    Reblogged this on Priyanka Farber Journal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

